Republic of Kazakhstan

Republic of Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is located in the center of the Eurasian continent at the crossroads of two continents - Europe and Asia, between 45 and 87 degrees east longitude, 40 and 55 degrees north latitude. 15% of the territory of Kazakhstan ≈ is in Europe, and 85% of the territory ≈ is in Asia. The geographical center of European-Asian subcontinent is precisely in Kazakhstan (at the intersection of the 78 meridian with 50 parallel). Kazakhstan occupies a central binder transit location.

Kazakhstan borders: to the east with China - 1460 km, to the south-west with Kyrgyzstan - 980 km, Turkmenistan - 380 km, Uzbekistan - 2300 km and to the west - north borders with the Russian Federation - 6477 km. Has water borders with Azerbaijan and Iran - 1730 km.

Kazakhstan occupies an area of 2,724.9 thous. sq. km. (about 2% of the earth's surface) and stretches to the east of the Caspian Sea and Volga plains to the mountainous Altai, from the foothills of the Tien Shan in the south and south-east to the West Siberian Plain in the north. The length of the territory from west to east is more than 3000 km, and from north to south - 1700 km.

Kazakhstan occupies the ninth place in the world according to its square, i. e. is among the top ten largest countries of the world by area after Russia, Canada, China, the USA, Brazil, Australia, India and Argentina. Population size and density: 15 million people (estimated 2004)., 5.5 people per 1 sq. km.

The territory of Kazakhstan stretches from the lower Volga in the west to the Altai Mountains to the east, and from the West Siberian Plain in the north to the Tien Shan Mountains in the south. In the southeast, rises mountain Khan Tengri, which has a height of 7,000 meters.

The capital of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Astana (from 10.12.1997).